TIPPERARY’S U21 HURLING side got in on the winning act with victory over a highly-rated Limerick side in tonight’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U-21 semi-final in Semple Stadium.

The William Maher managed side deservedly chiseled out a two-point victory in Thurles against a Limerick side that had been hotly tipped to advance.

The success propels Tipperary to a final meeting with Waterford on 27 July and follows up on the county’s double Munster hurling success at the Gaelic Grounds last Sunday.

Goals in either half from Andrew Coffey and substitute Ronan Teehan proved central to Tipperary’s victory.

Teehan’s strike in the 58th minute was a critical one as it pushed Tipperary five points clear but it was wiped out instantly when Limerick midfielder Darragh O’Donovan lashed a shot to the net at the other end.

However Tipperary weathered the Limerick storm with Teehan pointing in injury-time and a Ronan Lynch free – his ninth of the game – was all that Limerick could muster in response as they fell short by two points.

Limerick had looked bright at the start with a 0-3 to 0-1 advantage by the 7th minute but Tipperary fought back with a trio of points to go ahead after 17 minutes.

In a tough and uncompromising contest, scores were difficult to come by in the second quarter. Limerick raised four white flags courtesy of a trio of Lynch frees and a Tom Morrissey point but they hit seven wides in the opening period.

But a key score arrived in the 28th minute when Quirke set up wing-forward Andrew Coffey for a decisive strike to the net for Tipperary.

Tipperary trailed by 0-8 to 1-4 at the interval but they outscored Limerick by 0-3 to 0-1 in the third quarter and never faced a deficit thereafter.

Limerick were level at 1-7 to 0-10 with ten minutes remaining before Tipperary started to make a decisive burst for home. Jason Ryan (2), Coffey and Mark Russell all fired over points with Limerick’s response consisting of a brace of converted frees by Ronan Lynch.

And then Teehan pounced for that significant goal which put Tipperary into an unassailable lead despite Limerick’s best efforts late on.

Scorers for Tipperary: Andrew Coffey 1-2, Ronan Teehan 1-1, Josh Keane 0-4 (0-3f), Conor Lanigan, Jason Ryan 0-2 each, Mark Russell 0-1.

Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 0-9 (0-9 frees), Darragh O’Donovan 1-0, Barry Nash, Seamus Flanagan, Pat Ryan, Tom Morrissey 0-1 each.

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork)

This match report first appeared on the42.ie


Date Time Competition
July 14, 2016 7:30 pm Munster Semi-Final


Semple Stadium
Ardán Uí Chuinneáin, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary, Ireland