All-Ireland Champions Waterford lead the list of nominees

2015's Team of the Year

2015’s Team of the Year

It all comes down to 45 players who are in the running to be chosen as part of the 2016 Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year which will be announced on Newstalk’s Off the Ball on Tuesday 4 October and Wednesday 5 October.  All Ireland champions Waterford lead the way with twelve nominees in total. The winners will be presented with their awards at a special ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House on Saturday 8 October.

It’s a clean sweep for Waterford in the Player of the Year category. Defender Austin Gleeson is joined by forwards Patrick Curran and Stephen Bennett on the three-man shortlist. The Player of the Year along with the ‘B’ championship Player of the Year will be revealed on the night of the event.

Just two players who were named on the 2015 Team of the Year are again in contention to be honoured.  Limerick’s Richie English who was named at full-back last year could retain his position. Galway’s Brian Molloy, who won an award last year at corner forward, is nominated for the centre-forward berth.

U-21 hurling supporters and Off the Ball listeners are being given their chance to vote for the Score of the Year. Twelve great scores from this season’s championship have been listed. Go to to choose your favourite and be in with a chance to win a brilliant hotel getaway for two.

Speaking at the announcement of the shortlist, Ger Cunningham, Sports Ambassador for Bord Gáis Energy and leading panel judge said, “The Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year brings the U-21 season to a close and has become a mainstay of the GAA awards scene.  It’s is a fitting way to end another great season. 

“45 players have been nominated and it all comes down to getting their hands on one of those coveted fifteen spots. It’s great to be able to showcase these players’ individual exploits and raw skill.”

All-Ireland champions Waterford have twelve representatives on the list of nominees.  Dublin have nine players nominated with Galway and Tipperary with five each.  Westmeath, Limerick and Offaly have three nominees each while Clare have two. Cork, Wexford and Antrim have one apiece.

The full judging panel for the awards includes Ger Cunningham; TG4’s Micheál Ó Domhnaill; Galway star, Joe Canning and Waterford great Ken McGrath.

Full shortlist for the 2016 Team of the Year: 

  • Goalkeepers: Jordan Henley (Waterford), Brian Hogan (Tipperary), Jonathan Treacy (Dublin)
  • Right Corner Back: James Madden (Dublin), William Hahassy (Waterford), Simon Donoghue (Wexford)
  • Full Back: Richie English (Limerick), Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)
  • Left Corner Back: Tom Fox (Tipperary), Paddy Delaney (Offaly), Darragh Lyons (Waterford)
  • Right Half Back: Cian MacGabhann (Dublin), Michael Harney (Waterford), Ben Connelly (Offaly)
  • Centre Back: Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Ronan Maher (Tipperary), Liam Varley (Westmeath)
  • Left Half Back: Shane Barrett (Dublin), Ben O’Gorman (Clare), Seán Loftus (Galway)
  • Midfield: Jake Malone (Dublin), Shane Bennett (Waterford), Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick), Ronan Lynch (Limerick), Dan Nevin (Galway), Colm Roche (Waterford)
  • Right Half Forward: Seán Treacy (Dublin), Michael Kearney (Waterford), Pa O’Callaghan (Cork)
  • Centre Forward: Brian Molloy (Galway), Andrew Coffey (Tipperary), Tom Devine (Waterford)
  • Left Half Forward: Niall Mitchell (Westmeath), Shane Gleeson (Clare), Seán Linnane (Galway)
  • Right Corner Forward: Patrick Curran (Waterford), AJ Murphy (Dublin), Eanna Burke (Galway)
  • Full Forward: Stephen Bennett (Waterford), Stephen Quirke (Tipperary), Ciaran Doyle (Westmeath)
  • Left Corner Forward: Chris Bennett (Dublin), Emmet Nolan (Offaly), Saul McCaughan (Antrim)

Breakdown on counties nominated: 

  • Waterford – 12
  • Dublin – 9
  • Galway – 5
  • Tipperary – 5
  • Westmeath – 3
  • Limerick – 3
  • Offaly – 3
  • Clare – 2
  • Antrim – 1
  • Cork – 1
  • Wexford – 1

Nominations for Player of the Year 2016: 

  • Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
  • Patrick Curran (Waterford)
  • Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

Nominations for Bord Gáis Energy Off the Ball Score of the Year Award:

  • Seán Ryan, Leinster Quarter-Final, Dublin v Wexford
  • Chris Bennett, Leinster Semi-Final, Dublin v Westmeath
  • Mark Coleman, Munster Quarter-Final, Cork v Limerick
  • Seán Treacy, Leinster Final, Dublin v Offaly
  • Colm Roche, Munster Semi-Final, Waterford v Clare
  • Andrew Coffey, Munster Semi-Final, Tipperary v Limerick
  • Peter Hogan, Munster Final, Waterford v Tipperary
  • Patrick Curran, All-Ireland Semi-Final, Waterford v Antrim
  • James Madden, All-Ireland Semi-Final, Dublin v Galway
  • Stefan Kelly, ‘B’ Championship Final, Meath v Mayo
  • Stephen Bennett, All-Ireland Final, Waterford v Galway
  • Patrick Curran/Stephen Bennett, All-Ireland Final, Waterford v Galway